Located on Cornell College's Historical Campus at Cole Library

Home | Catalog | Online Databases | My Library Account | Interlibrary Loan

Click for Mount Vernon, Iowa Forecast

 

Online Databases

Online databases provide two kinds of information:

  • citations for articles in periodicals (magazines and newspapers). When only the citation is provided, the database will provide a link to the library’s catalog if we own the publication; or it will provide a link to ILLIAD, our inter-library loan service so that we can borrow a copy from another library for you.
  • Full-text of articles in periodicals. When full-text is provided, you can print off a complete copy of the article or, in many cases, you can email the article to a friend from the database.

Online Databases Available:

Academic Search Premier. A general-purpose database that provides information from more than 3,600 publications. Appropriate for searching current topics, political or social issues, education topics, and other general information.

Business Source Elite. This business database provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications.

Clinical Pharmacology. Access up-to-date, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products.

Health Source-Consumer Edition. Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health

MAS (Magazine Article Summaries). Contains full text for more than 700 popular, high school magazines.

MasterFile Premier . Full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications.

Middle Search Plus. Full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research

Naxos Music Library provides access to a large library of music

Newspaper Source. Full text for nearly 30 national ( U.S.) and international newspapers

News Bank. Full text articles from Des Moines Register, Cedar Rapids Gazette, and Chicago Tribune.

Primary Search. Full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research

First Search Access to resources including Books in Print, article databases, and catalogs of libraries around the world through WorldCat.


To access these databases from your home computer:

If you are a resident of Mt. Vernon or if you live in an unincorporated area of Linn County, you can follow the links above to access these databases from any workstation connected to the Internet. Follow the link to the database you would like to search; if you are not on the Cornell campus, at the next screen you will be asked to log on using your last name and library barcode number.

Please call the information desk at (319) 895-4122 or e-mail us if you have a problem accessing these databases .